About District 6

District 6 is made up of over 290 corporate, community, advanced, and specialty Toastmasters Clubs across portions of Minnesota (excluding some northwestern counties) and the central Ontario, Canada. More than 5,000 members enjoy the benefits of Toastmasters from rural areas to the suburbs to the metropolitan communities.

District 6 is divided into 10 Divisions and roughly 60 Areas. An Area can encompass 3 to 7 Clubs. A Division may have from 4 to 7 Areas.

District 6 first became a District on December 31, 1937 (some documents note it as July 1/1937). At that time, there were three Clubs. Today, the District is geographically smaller but larger in numbers of clubs and members.

To learn more about the District leadership team, please click here.

The boundaries of District 6 are as follows:
All of the State of Minnesota, excepting the following 20 counties of Becker, Beltrami, Clay, Clearwater, Douglas, Grant, Hubbard, Kittson, Lake of the Woods, Mahnomen, Marshall, Norman, Ottertail, Pennington, Polk, Red Lake, Rock, Roseau, Wadena and Wilkin; and in the Province of Ontario, that part bounded by the State of Minnesota, from Fort Frances east to Lake Superior, along Lake Superior easterly past Marathon to Highway 614, north on highway 614 to Highway 625. At the junction of Highway 625 and Highway 11, the boundary continues in a northeasterly direction to Cape Henrietta Maria and in the west by Highway 71 to Sioux Narrows, then east to the junction of Highway 17 and Highway 599, then following Highway 599 in a northeasterly direction to Fort Severn, subject to change by the Board of Directors of Toastmasters International.


District 6 is one of roughly 90 districts.  It is a part of Region 4.  Toastmasters Internationals has 12 regions spread across the world.



The following map shows the area (in yellow) that District 6 covers.

Click on map to enlarge (full screen).